You have an outdated webbrowser. The website might not work correctly.

Fast delivery from our own stock
Over 15.000 products
We ship from the Netherlands
Our customers give us a 5-star rating

Reviews for Shapton Glass Stone sharpening set grit 500, 2000 and 8000, 50308

10 Reviews
Article number SJ50308

Reviews for Shapton Glass Stone sharpening set grit 500, 2000 and 8000, 50308

10 Reviews
€180.00
€239.00
-25%You will save 59.00
± 1 month

This product has been ordered. The delivery time is an indication. Please take delays into account.

Grit according to supplier: 1,84 micron, 2000, 29,4 micron, 500, 7,35 micron, 8000, coarse, medium, super fine
Returns within 30 days
Our customers give us a 5-star rating
Fast delivery from our own stock
See all product information

Reviews

Average rating

10 Reviews
Sort by:
RTB, Granada

Tuesday, March 12, 2024

In general
Value for money
Expectations

José, Zaragoza

Tuesday, January 16, 2024

In general
Value for money
Expectations

José Blanco, Zamora

Monday, January 1, 2024

In general
Value for money
Expectations

robin hughes, Farnham

Tuesday, October 31, 2023

In general
Value for money
Expectations

exactly as expected.. very happy with service and product. was using glass plate and adhesive film but the shapton glass is much nicer to use


Bram, Broechem

Tuesday, May 9, 2023

In general
Value for money
Expectations

Quincy, Scheulder

Monday, February 27, 2023

In general
Value for money
Expectations

Adrian, Leamington Spa

Friday, June 17, 2022

In general
Value for money
Expectations

I am not an expert, but I have some experience sharpening all my knives by hand. Immediately I noticed how fast the stone "cuts". It's absolutely amazing! With my old stones, I would spend hours and suffer from back pains, not to mention all the "mud" that get's everywhere around the kitchen to my despair plus no time wasted on soaking the stones: Splash-n-Play, baby! The price is a bit high, but it is reflected in the quality and that I can accept. The 500/ 2k/ 8k combo it's amazing: you can reach a razor-sharp level, in minutes, instead of hours. My ultimate test is the arm shave; if it can easily shave it's good enough for my kitchen! I would definitely recommend the product line and combo!


d simpson, scarborough

Tuesday, February 8, 2022

In general
Value for money
Expectations

Arrived on time. This product weighs a lot. It comes nicely packaged and I'm impressed with the look of the Shapton unit. It looks classy. It's nicely made and I like the way the sharpening stone holder also becomes the storage unit for all the stones when finished. My first time using a sharpening stone of any description but online videos helped me get my bearings. It took a few attempts to get the correct angles for sharpening but I got there in the end and sharpened all my Japanese kitchen knives and some old Sabatier knives as well. No real instructions came with this product on sharpening or looking after the stones IE - leveling after prolonged use.


Marta Torres, London

Tuesday, July 7, 2020

In general
Value for money
Expectations

Exelent stones, for sure the fastest I've ever used and is compact. They don't seem to dish fast so don't be scared if they look thinner than others.


Juan**, London

Thursday, June 21, 2018

In general
Value for money
Expectations

**There are a great many conflicting opinions about these products and I understand that I may be contributing more to the confusion by adding my experience, but here it is anyway, as somebody might find this useful. Once I received the products, they immediately went to work. Eight (blue and white steel) single bevel knives and five (stainless) double bevel knives. All of these were given a fresh edge and used all three stones. Subsequently, I’ve used the 500 about a dozen times (only for single bevel), the 2000 for touch ups (a bit more), and the 8000 about half that many times. The 500 has worn down considerably leaving about half of its original thickness due to levelling more often. I primarily use single bevel knives and prefer a relatively flat surface to sharpen. I level the stone after every two to four knives, approximately. Less on the 2000, and much less for the 8000. In terms of experience, I prefer it over (my favourite) Naniwa 400—which is a surprise—as it is slightly larger and I feel (admittedly subjective) it cuts material faster and I actually prefer its feedback, oddly enough. The 2000 was also a surprise as I am able to touch up and polish (to an extent) in a pinch with the same stone without going through my regular (2-4 stone) progression. Due to this, the 8000 gets much less use and is sure to last longer than both. A thing about the stone holder; it’s best suited to store the stones and not to use actually sharpening on. It is well made but quite light, making it unwieldy. Would I buy these again? Sure. Perhaps two 500s to go along with the 2000 and 8000 (or 6000) as my use case requires it. Is it economical? Probably not in a monetary sense, then again, in my case, there are not many affordable high quality choices. I do like that they are practically splash and go and cut steel faster than my previous stones, so in that way, I do spend considerably less time sharpening, at least in total. I would like to know if these are still currently in production as an acquaintance from overseas told me in passing recently that they may not be. The website shapton.co.jp is still online but would still like to know for sure if they are still in fact in operation.


Article number SJ50308

Reviews for Shapton Glass Stone sharpening set grit 500, 2000 and 8000, 50308

10 Reviews
€180.00
€239.00
-25%You will save 59.00
± 1 month

This product has been ordered. The delivery time is an indication. Please take delays into account.

Grit according to supplier: 1,84 micron, 2000, 29,4 micron, 500, 7,35 micron, 8000, coarse, medium, super fine
Returns within 30 days
Our customers give us a 5-star rating
Fast delivery from our own stock